Healthy Families Act of 2014

Seyfarth Synopsis: We’ve regularly reported on California’s peculiar paid sick leave laws. Not counting industry-specific paid sick laws (e.g., the Long Beach and Los Angeles ordinances regulating hotel employers), there are now six California city ordinances mandating paid sick leave.[1] This week’s focus is on changes to the San Diego law, effective September 2, 2016.

The San Diego ordinance, originally proposed in 2014, had been put on hold pending a voter referendum. Voters passed the referendum on June 16, 2016. As passed, the referendum lacked key details. Conspicuously absent were permissible caps on annual accrual and carryover. As passed, the referendum did not allow employers to “front load” sick leave once per year (in an “annual grant”). The California Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014 made annual front-loading a popular option. The referendum also failed to state an effective date.

By action of the S.D. City Council, the effective date became July 11, 2016. On that same day, the City Council passed the first reading of a 21-page Implementing Ordinance available here making amendments and clarifications. The Implementing Ordinance did not go into effect immediately, but faced the normal implementation process: a second reading, mayoral signature, and a 30-day waiting period before taking effect. The Implementing Ordinance was signed by the mayor on August 3, 2016, and will become effective on September 2, 2016.

The Good News. Effective Friday, September 2, 2016, San Diego will:

  • Allow employers to cap an employee’s total accrual of sick leave at 80 hours (80 hours is the maximum carryover);
  • Allow employers to front-load no fewer than 40 hours of sick leave at the beginning of each “benefit year” (a regular and consecutive twelve-month period, determined by the employer);
  • Clarify the enforcement process, including a civil penalty cap for employers with no previous violations. The Office of the City Treasurer has been designated as the enforcing agency.

The Implementing Ordinance language seemingly still provides for carryover of earned sick leave for up to 80 hours. The Implementing Ordinance provides: “Employers may limit an Employee’s use of Earned Sick Leave to 40 Hours in a Benefit Year, but unused, accrued Earned Sick Leave must be carried over to the following Benefit Year.” An FAQ available here states that carryover is not required if the employer uses an annual grant (frontloading). The FAQ states:

Can an employer “front load” 40 hours of sick leave rather than award it through the accrual method?

The ordinance provides only for the accrual of paid sick time at the rate of one hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked. The ordinance does not provide for any other method of awarding earned sick leave; however, the Implementing Ordinance, once effective on September 2, 2106, will allow employers to front load no less than 40 hours of sick leave to an employee at the beginning of each benefit year. Front loading at least 40 hours of leave each benefit year will excuse an employer from the accrual and carryover provisions of the Ordinance.

Under this FAQ interpretation, life would be easier for San Diego employers who administer sick leave via annual grants. Carryover will not need to be tracked and annual grants can be uniform.

The Bad News. Ambiguity remains in the San Diego Ordinance, including on the issue of how employers comply in the gap period between the effective date of July 11, 2016 and the effective date of the Implementing Ordinance (September 2, 2016). Also, there are open issues on the rate of pay. On the one hand, it seems that San Diego intended to swing closer to the California paid sick law. On the other hand, San Diego appears to be at odds with the state law on the rate of sick leave pay. Per the Implementing Ordinance, non-exempt employees are paid “at the same regular rate of pay for the work week in which the Employee uses Earned Sick Leave.” Does “regular rate of pay” mean the “regular rate of pay” for the purposes of the overtime laws (a legally complex calculation that includes certain types of bonuses, different rates of pay, commissions, etc.), as required by California law? Per the FAQ, it appears San Diego’s intent is to require pay at the hourly rate in effect at the time the sick pay is used, not the more complex “regular rate of pay” used for overtime. The FAQ says: “Employees accrue leave by the hour, not by a specific wage rate. When used, these hours must be paid at the hourly rate the employee earns at the time the employee uses the earned sick leave.” Unfortunately for employers subject to The California Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014, San Diego is at odds with how the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement has interpreted the California paid sick leave law for non-exempts. DLSE’s FAQ, available here, says the employer may either:

Calculate your regular, non-overtime rate of pay for the workweek in which you used paid sick leave, whether or not you actually worked overtime in that workweek (in general terms, this is usually done by dividing your total non-overtime compensation by the total non-overtime hours worked), or

Divide your total compensation for the previous 90 days (excluding overtime premium pay) by the total number of non-overtime hours worked in the full pay periods of the prior 90 days of employment

Even on sick leave pay for exempt employees, there is a San Diego peculiarity, although it is probably not consequential for most employers. For exempt employees, the San Diego Implementing Ordinance says to pay sick time at the “same rate and in the same manner as the Employer compensates working time.” The DLSE, in contrast, says to pay California sick leave at the rate paid for time off: “For exempt employees, paid sick leave is calculated in the same manner the employer calculates wages for other forms of paid leave time (for example, vacation pay, paid-time off.)” The DLSE’s FAQ is available here. This picayune peculiarity could, in some cases, make a difference in exempt pay.

Our practical suggestion: pay San Diego sick leave at whichever rate is more generous. For non-exempts, the state calculation will be more generous in most cases. For exempts, base salary will work in most, but not all, cases.

[1] Here are the six:

  • San Francisco (Proposition F, passed in November 2006)
  • Oakland, summary here
  • Emeryville, with paid sick time to care for guide dogs, signal dogs and service dogs, summarized here
  • Los Angeles, summary here
  • San Diego, summary here
  • Santa Monica (coming in 2017), summary here

Edited by Colleen Regan and David Kadue.

Man signs document stamped handleBy Dana Peterson and Christopher Im

California’s Paid Sick Leave Law, AB 304, or the Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014 as it is officially known, is a hot topic that we have blogged about a number of times. Eligible employees began accruing paid sick time under the new law on July 1st. However, proposed amendments to the Paid Sick Leave Law were still meandering through the Legislature until finally passed by the Senate on July 13th and signed into law by Governor Brown today.

Assembly Bill 304 was first introduced in February 2015, and underwent seven dizzying amendments. In our last blog, we discussed the June 2, 2015 version, which included for the first time an urgency clause. The urgency clause makes the amendments effective today, the day that Governor Brown signed the bill. To see the full text of the newly passed amendments, click here.

So what do the latest amendments do? The key changes relate to how employers are to calculate the payment of sick time accrued under the new law.

When the law was originally passed, the rate of pay was to be calculated based upon an employee’s hourly rate. For employees who earn different hourly rates of pay, are paid by commission or piece rate, or are nonexempt salaried employees, the rate of pay was calculated based upon the wages paid, not including overtime premium pay, and the hours worked in the full pay periods that the employee worked during the prior 90-days.

A different method of calculation was proposed in the original text of AB 304. However, to keep things interesting, subsequent amendments proposed different methods of calculation, including the final June 22nd amendment. While this left many employers scratching their heads over how to update their policies (“Should we incorporate the original method of calculation for  now?”  “Should we incorporate this version or wait and see if it’s going to be amended again?”  “What?  Another amendment?  It’s been only 3-days since the last one!  I give up!”) the good news is that the amended version signed by the Governor today contains a greatly simplified method of calculation.

Now,

a) For nonexempt employees, employers may choose one of two options: (1) calculate paid sick leave in the same manner as the regular rate of pay for the workweek in which the employee uses the paid sick time; or, (2) calculate paid sick leave by dividing the employee’s total wages, not including overtime premium pay, by the employee’s total hours worked during the full pay periods that the employee worked during the prior 90 days.

b) For exempt employees, paid sick leave is calculated in the same manner as the employer calculates wages for other forms of paid leave time.

If you have any questions about the newly adopted amendments, you can always reach out to our California Counseling and Workplace Solutions team.

Edited by Jeffrey Berman and Colleen Regan

By Kristina Launey and Christie Jackson

On August 30, 2014, California Governor Jerry Brown commented on the Legislature’s passage of a bill entitled the “Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014”: “Tonight, the Legislature took historic action to help hardworking Californians. This bill guarantees that millions of workers – from Eureka to San Diego – won’t lose their jobs or pay just because they get sick.”  The bill, which he signed into law September 10, will require employers statewide to provide paid sick leave.

Though the requirement that employees receive paid sick leave under the Act does not kick in until July 1, 2015, the Act already has employers sweating the law’s myriad of new provisions, mindful of the compliance headaches the new law’s vagaries are certain to bring. If only there were a vaccine… For now, as is often the case, the only sure cure is prevention. Awareness and proactive preparation is the only way to weather the worst of this latest legislative virus.

Employees May Earn 24 Hours of Paid Sick Leave Per Year: The Act grants a right to earn paid sick days to employees who—on or after July 1, 2015—work in California for 30 or more days within a year. Paid sick days will accrue at the rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked. The employee may use the accrued sick days beginning on the 90th day of employment. Exempt employees’ accrual is based on a presumed 40 hour-workweek; except that an exempt employee whose normal workweek is fewer than 40 hours will accrue paid sick days based on that employee’s normal workweek.

An employer can limit use of paid sick days to 24 hours or three days in each year of employment. No accrual or carry over is required if the full amount of leave is received at the beginning of each year. The Act does not require extra paid sick days to be paid by employers whose paid time off policies already provide as many sick days as the Act now requires.

Qualifying Reasons for Use:  Continue Reading New Sick Pay Law Will Nauseate Some California Employers